Adam's Lag Solutions

~H3ADSH0T~~H3ADSH0T~ Posts: 810REGISTERED Community Expert Lvl 2
edited October 2012 in Feedback & Comments
hVdBF.png
So i saw a topic talking about how to prevent lag, and it was not in-depth at all. I was going to post this as a comment, but after i wrote it, i decided it should be it's own topic. I am not an IT professional, although, i have been playing online games for quite some time now and have encountered almost every form of lag. I also did DDoS protection for small businesses, and worked for a VPS (virtual private server) company as a support assistant.

So if you are experiencing a great deal of lag in-game, there are multiple reasons for it. If you have any other suggestions, please reply with them and i will add them to the list.

cGKqT.png

1. Internet is slow. Here are ways to fix your slow connection:
  • Lets start with the most crucial. Find a server in your area. Do not play on servers far away from you. The further the distance, the higher the ping.
  • Stop any uploads/downloads while on UberStrike. Uploading will take the largest tole on your internet, however, downloading will still significantly decrease the quality of your your VoIP.
  • Put a password on your router to make sure 3rd party usage is not allowed. By leaving your router open, there will be a high amount of traffic on your internet which will cause your internet speed to slow down significantly.
  • Close any programs that are accessing the internet, including other webpages. If you are playing Uberstrike, i suggest you close all other webpages until you are in the lobby where your connection is irrelevant.
  • Make sure your cables are connected properly in the modem/router. Sometimes wires will become loose over time, and need to be nudged back in securely.
  • Unplug your router/modem for 10 seconds and plug them back in.